Butternut Squash Oat Muffins with Candied Ginger

img_7945

This week’s muffin is Melissa Clark’s Butternut Squash Oat Muffins with Candied Ginger (recipe at link). Please excuse the Halloween-themed muffin liners as I’m currently on a quest to use up all surplus seasonal baking supplies. Several years ago, I had a standing annual Halloween baking order and would snatch up every themed cupcake pan liner I could get my hands on at clearance sales. The Halloween bakes ended so even after years of diligently whittling away at them, I still have about 100 liners in various spooky patterns. Anyway…about the muffins.

Here are my changes: I used about half the maple syrup called for because (a) I’ve been trying to cut down on my sugar consumption and I used the full amount of brown sugar listed (plus the ginger is candied and coated in white sugar), and more importantly, (b) I only had about 2 tablespoons of syrup left in the bottle. I compensated for the resulting deficit in wet ingredients by using a little more (plain) Greek nonfat yogurt — 5.3 ounces instead of 4 — this specific amount was because that was the size of the yogurt container I had and I didn’t really want to discard the little bit that was left. I omitted the lemon zest because I didn’t have any lemons.

I was faithful to the weight measurements (the volumetric measurements didn’t seem to jibe with the listed weights). I used my food processor to grate the butternut squash as I wasn’t into grating my fingertips this morning.

The muffins are perfect, with just a touch of sweetness… exactly what I was looking for. I’m not super fond of sweet muffins that resemble frosting-free cupcakes. I’m really looking forward to enjoying these with a hot cup of coffee tomorrow morning. ☕️

2 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Oat Muffins with Candied Ginger

  1. Thanks. They look yummy!

    On Tue, Feb 21, 2017 at 1:53 AM, Made With My Own Two Hands wrote:

    > madewithmyowntwohands posted: “This week’s muffin is Melissa > Clark’s Butternut Squash Oat Muffins with Candied Ginger (recipe at link). > Please excuse the Halloween-themed muffin liners as I’m currently on a > quest to use up all surplus seasonal baking supplies. Several years ago, I > had ” >

Leave a Reply

